I'm sorry for the persistent brightness change because of migratory clouds
uhm yeah
I know I'm not credible
you come in from that door, but you're wearing glasses?
Everyone that knows me knows that when I get out from home I never wear glasses
but just because today I broke my contact at school
you should have seen me at school like a retarded
keeping my hand like this looking at like
everywhere because I was blind in one eye but not in the other one
let's put this
this f****** bag
today is Friday
for me is Friday I don't know when this video will come out
I finished a school week
and there's no better moment for talking about school
you would probably hear my host-parents' voices in the background during the whole video
because I want to get as much light as I can
si f*** that
So, school
Imma tell you the differences between the American and the Italian high school
I'll mainly divide this video by
4 parts
Schedule, classes, sports
and special events like holidays or anything like that
I'll compare both high schools basing on these categories
so American versus Italian High school
So let's start with the schedule of the American high school
the American high school is different for each state
there are 50 states in the US
Each of them are different from each other
depending on schedule...
It so much more various than in Italy
I'll basically explain you
what I usually do at school, because I know that each school is different
so if I'll try to list them all I'll never finish this video
and this will take my entire life and you'll probably skip
School starts, I know this will hurt a little
school starts at 7:10 am
There's an exception for me too cause I have to wake up
every day at 5:40am, when it's still dark outside
take the bus, when it's still dark
around 6:20
get there at 6:45, get off the bus
then wait 20 minutes before the bell rings
school ends at 2:20pm
obviously I take the bus to go back home so
I'll be home around 3
because it takes like 40 minutes from my school to home
but, but
they're starting doing it in Italy too
no school on Saturday
and to be honest they should make it universal for all the students
because, uhm
okay so we were talking
you can't let a student go to school on Saturday
knowing that he only has a day of vacation per week
maybe because I got used to do it in Italy too
but if I would have to go back to school on Saturday I don't even know what I would do
there's something more
in my case on Wednesdays
obviously it's different from a school to another
Each period in the schedule is reduced
what does reduced mean?
it means that they remove some minutes
for each period in your schedule
Theoretically we get out from school an hour earlier
so we get out at 1:24pm on Wednesdays
instead of getting out at 2:20pm
the schedule that you'll get
when you're starting first semester
basically when you start school
it will be the same, identical schedule every
school day, for the whole semester
that means that you'll have the same schedule so
same teachers, same classes for the whole semester
something that you probably have seen in the movies
is that
the teachers don't change class each period
but the students change class each period
Let's talk about the Italian schedule
the basic schedule
of an Italian high school would be from 8:30am
until 1:30 pm
so, the student gets in
at 8:30, he has 5 periods
with a 20 minutes-break
between 3rd and 4th period
I mean that's how high school is
but if they take this schedule they'll have school on Saturday too
I don't have this schedule in my school
I used to do it in middle school, now I start at 8:30am
and I finish at 5:30pm
that are obviously mandatory, so you have to do them anyways
let's talk about the classes
how American and Italian classes are structured
I mean like teachers
everything related to the classes
In America we basically have
a test average, which are all written and multiple choice
you'll have a test almost every 2 weeks for each class
teachers give homework almost every day
so every time you go back home you're supposed to have homework
the incredible difference from the Italian high school
is the classes division basing on approaching levels
if you can call it like that
there are standard, honors, and AP classes
standard classes are the ones where
you can find people that
need more help on learning stuff so
the teachers get used to it and make things easier
so that students will be able to understand
honors classes are considered "the middle classes"
standard classes
always have an honors variant so basically
in standard classes you could find
people that need more help
in honors classes
people actually want to learn something more difficult
they're a little bit more challenging
it depends on the type of class that you want to pick
AP classes are basically "the top of the mountain"
they are college level
some classes don't have
their AP variant
if in standard classes you always had an honors variant
AP classes are selected
and are not always available
for all the standard and honors classes
as I said they're selected
we have ridiculous things to
every quarter, I don't know if I told you
every end of a quarter we do a sort of exam
every quarter is made by 9 weeks
and this exam that is made for each of your classes
is literally called
9 week exam
in this exam you'll basically have
a review of the stuff you did during that quarter
so it's not like in Italy
cause I was like "Oh I finished this in math
so I don't have to care about it no more
here you have to remember everything you did in that quarter
which is like a pain in the ass
because you say like "I took the test"
but then you have to remember it
the most ridiculous thing for me is gym classes
gym classes
are so much different from Italian gym classes because we have
just "physical education"
and we do everything: volleyball, basketball, athletics, anything you want
In America they have specifical classes
so there's a class that does volleyball
there's a class that does tennis,
soccer, weight training
everything is divided
THE DOGS, THE DOOOGS
THE DOOGS
f***
AHH
gym classes are everything but gym classes
now I'm going to tell you why
because you say "ah
gym classes
maybe they're almost as fake as Italian gym classes
but in Italian gym classes you could find
the teacher that says
"today we do this, tomorrow we do that", who follows the students
here nobody gives a f***
basically people sit around
it's like a "hanging out" class
In Italy we do a sort of election
where we vote for a rep that will represent each category
because of the fact that we don't change classes
we have to vote for a rep
so, for each class there's two class' reps (students)
and two parents' reps
for the student's parents in each class
then for the whole school
we vote for two school's reps (students) that are voted by
every student in the school
so everyone can vote for everyone
they make up different electoral lists that are proposed at the beginning of the year
so you can pick anyone from every list
I usually have two different lists in my school
but when I talked about standard, honors, and AP classes
you can pick the classes directly from the school itself
like I said in the last video, moving to another school is
difficult because schools are far from each other
In Italy everything is concentrated
there are different schools that have different classes
so you can pick the classical high school
as you can pick the scientific hs
as you can pick the industrial hs
professional
agricultural
that does specific subjects
that will prepare you for university
or job that you'll do
let's talk about sports
Americans don't joke on sports in high school
you watch the movies with the cheerleaders, the football team...
it's exactly how you think it is
as you watch in the movies
what happens in real life is exactly the same
because you basically uhm, let's say that
you want to join the football team
you have a limited amount of time
to prepare all your forms
in order to go to tryouts and join the team
once you have signed those forms
the coaches call you for conditioning before tryouts
once you're done with conditioning
you start tryouts where coaches start kicking out people
every time you have tryouts
let's say you have 60 people and you have to make
a team of
let's say a soccer team (11 people)
plus 11 more that would replace them
you have to kick out almost 40 people, which is a big amount
In Italy we don't have this kind of tradition
Obviously Italian hs
we don't make teams at school
we don't compete against the other schools, not officially
directly from school
we don't recruit people
it's not as direct as the American hs
We basically join the clubs
that's how you call them
so for example soccer schools outside the school
in America they're called clubs
for Americans people that join clubs are
"daddy's sons"
that don't know how to play, so they join clubs
they make the team and everything
but they pay for it like 2000 dollars a year
so people that join clubs are kind of humiliated
let's talk about special events
yeah, special events! what is really special about it?
the name
in the American hs holidays are spreaded properly
let's start frommm
when school starts here, so August
in August
they don't celebrate "ferragosto"
so I was at school while my friends were at the beach
in September there was not a real vacation or holiday
but we got hit by Irma
you all know what happened
a week with no power, so then a week with no school
in October we supposed to have vacation
but then they canceled it because of Irma
It was not supposed to be vacation but we had a whole week
In November there was
there was Thanksgiving day
so, a whole week of vacation
which started on the
20th
eh
from the 20th to the 27th
and I was so happy because
because my Italian friends have been at school for the whole week and I was like
OH YEAH NO SCHOOL HA HAAA
In December
they have Christmas holidays that on the
twentyyyyyyyyy
yyyyyyyyy
third
nah they start on the 22nd
and they ended on January 8th like in Italy
because there was Saturday and Sunday in between
In January they have Martin Luther King day
In February we have Presidents day
In March they have
The last big vacation
which is the Spring break
basically like Thanksgiving break
because they try to divide the quarters
with vacations
Thanksgiving break was not like that tho
In April we have no vacation
In May school ends, it ends on the 25th
talking about other special events in the American hs
they have the dances
there's the homecoming
which is open to everyone
remember that there are 4 years if hs in America, not 5
then the Prom, which is at the end of the year
only seniors can participate
We have completely different vacations in Italy
I can't tell you month by month because
In September we don't have any
neither in October
In November we have Saints' day, which is on the first
Dead's day, which is on the second but it's a school day
in December my city doesn't have school
on the 6th because it's the patron of the city's day (St. Claus)
the on the 8th
it's the Immaculate Conception
usually we have vacation on the 7th in order to make three days straight
then we have Christmas holidays that started on the 23rd
and ended on January 8th this year
In February there's Carnival
so maybe on
"Fat Thursday" we usually do a party at school
or at least in my school we do
then on "Fat Tuesday", last year it was vacation
but now it's not, I still don't know why
In March we could have Easter
but it depends on the year cause sometimes
it's in April, sometimes in March
April we could have Easter as I said
we would do like
A whole week of vacation
In May we basically have nothing because it's dedicated to making up tests so
ending the school year with the best you can get
like someone who failed a test can always make up a test
with the ones that will come out in May
and
In June we finish school, just 10 days
it ends on the 10th
then we start summer, everyone says "Yeah, let's go to the beach"
and that's it
Look now the dogs will bark
because Brian is back
look
Hold on, there you goo
I think we got at the end of this video
thanks for watching until here because
you're tolerating me way too much
Hope to see you in the next video
leave a like
leave a comment down below
so you'll give me a feedback
telling me how it is going
what would you like to watch in the next video?
maybe I should start one of the old videos
or something like that
so let me know, I'm always here
that's all from Riccardo
goodbye everyone!
Yes, I know what you're thinking about
now they're gonna report the video because of copyright


No comments:
Post a Comment