Monday, October 1, 2018

USA news on Youtube Oct 2 2018

Hey there.

This past month we all woke up and realized that the Onion's saddest article is about

to become truth.

Next year the United States will start sending troops to Afghanistan that were born after

the start of the US's longest war.

The amount of time that the United States has spent trying to control this one small

country is hard to talk about, but it's important that we do, so that's what I will try to do

today...

I don't talk about Afghanistan on this channel much.

This is because the topic is fiendishly complex.

I can't talk about Afghanistan with any seriousness, without talking about the history and issues

facing Pakistan.

And I can't talk about Pakistan's issues with any seriousness without discussing India.

The Afghanistan issue is inseparable from the conflicts between these two massive countries.

And honestly Bangladesh is a big part of this conflict as well.

So I can't talk about Afghanistan seriously without talking about the problems that face

a quarter of humanity.

I am just not adequately prepared to do that yet.

There's another reason I don't often delve into the US's longest war.

It's really depressing.

For 17 years now we have poured in trillions of dollars failing to change the facts on

the ground much at all.

The sheer scale of the waste here is awe inspiring.

It's the worst testament imaginable to US power.

In the 1980s the Russians attempted to occupy Afghanistan.

At that time the Soviet Union was just over the border from the country, Not across the

world as we are.

The full resources of one of the world's largest countries were poured into the occupation.

The Soviet attempt to control Afghanistan lasted little more than half as long as our

attempt has lasted so far.

The British Empire lost thousands of soldiers trying to control Afghanistan.

Finally, with the end of the Second Anglo Afghan war in 1880, they managed to get control

of the place, sort of.

The Afghans kicked the British out with the Third Anglo Afghan War in 1919.

In 2020 our occupation of Afghanistan will have lasted just about half as long as that

of the British.

Yet we still pretend that the United States is not an Imperial power.

And the US Afghan adventure is so much dumber than the British one.

During most of the period of British control there weren't even any British soldiers there.

The British bribed local powers to maintain control rather than post armies on the other

side of the world.

The British knew better than we did.

Their empire in Afghanistan was more stable and it cost a small fraction of what ours

does.

When we invaded Afghanistan in 2001 I was a young man, in my last year of University.

Now I am a middle aged man, just about to turn 40.

Wars should not last a generation.

Our war in Afghanistan has become permanent.

Each new president let's the generals do the same things over and over again with no result,

year after year.

The US war in Afghanistan may very well be Human history's most expensive exercise in

pointlessness.

Every year tens of billions of dollars are thrown down a bottomless pit, that nobody

in the US government really even understands.

I don't have anything clever to say here.

Just that we need to stop ignoring the tragedy of this endless war.

We need to get out and we need to get out now.

Before we find ourselves sending some US Afghan veteran's grandchild to fight the same Battles.

Thanks for watching.

Please subscribe, and click the bell next to the subscribe button to get notifications

when I upload a new video.

And if you want a free essay on a completely different topic you can sign up for my email

list at the link here...

For more infomation >> US Afghanistan Policy Is History's Greatest Waste - Duration: 4:01.

-------------------------------------------

SMA di Amrik vs di Indo: Part 2- Pergaulan, Driver's Ed, Part-Time Job (ENG Sub) - Duration: 14:46.

We studied all the time

We didn't even have boyfriends!

Hi guys, this is Lusiana from Lusilin...

wow, apparently there is a lot of differences between high schools in the US vs. in Indonesia

I had to break down this topic into multiple videos

In last week's video,

we talked about the differences between high schools in the US and in Indonesia in terms of

the structure of the school system and structure of the payments

If you guys have not seen that video,

I will put the link up there so you guys can go check it out!

In this video, we will be discussing

the social life

of high schools students

and the social cliques

of high school students in the US vs. in Indonesia

How different do you think it is? Keep on watching!

When I was in junior high and high school,

there were the smart kids

the smart kids were definitely the teachers' pets

and they were definitely the popular kids

and then there were the bad students

bad students,

and then there were the average/"normal" kids

Which one were you?

Me? haha...

I was an average/ "normal" student

yes, normal student

There were also the kids who were below average

you know, below average...

So here in the US, it's really based on the social life...(as opposed to their school performance)

Back then in my high school,

there were popular kids who were smart, average and below average

But, they were popular because, at least in my school, because they had rich parents

So they often threw parties at their houses

Some of the popular kids also became popular by association

So for example, if you were popular, maybe because your parents were rich, I would be popular too because we're close friends.

That's how it is in high schools here (well, at least mine)

There were also popular kids who only looked like they came from rich families

when in reality their families weren't rich

but they wore brands that were "in" at the time

Back then (in my high school), Abercrombie & Fitch was one of the "in" brands

So all the popular kids wore Abercrombie & Fitch

So it's brand-based

Also, the popular kids who were girls wore a lot of makeup to school

For the popular boys, in my high school, some of them were also school athletes

So, like in the movies...

The football player...yes...

The football players were the most popular guys, then basketball players were the second most popular guys, and then the soccer players were probably the next level

As for the popular girls, some of them were also school athletes, usually volleyball players (and basketball players too)

Us who studied all the time....

basically, my group...

like my friends, we all were in advanced classes

So for example, when we were Juniors (Grade 11), we took the Math class that the Seniors (Grade 12) was taking

So that was our own group

We weren't considered popular because we were always studying...so we were considered nerds

And in the cafeteria...if you've seen the movie Mean Girls,

In the cafeteria, the students were sitting in their own cliques

(in my high school) it was just like that

There were also the "Drama Geeks" because they were all in the school's Drama club

Some of them did well in school, some didn't, but they were all in the school's Drama Club

so that was its own clique

There were also the "Skaterboy" kids

They were usually also the troublemakers

And also the popular kids, because they liked to party, they were known to be the ones drinking alcohol

So, here in the US, the social cliques did not depend on how well we did in school

So, my school was an all-girl school

and it was a Catholic school

so because we were all girls...

our uniforms were all the same

Because it was a Catholic school, we had to wear high socks that went up to our calves

and we had to wear black shoes

You can tell the popular kids apart (from the other kids) based on their handbags, how they wore their makeup

and also their hair...some of them already started dying their hair brown or some other natural colors

Outside of school when they wear regular clothes, they were more distinguishable, based on their fashion style

also how they talked

Some of these smart and rich popular kids were snobby

and they wouldn't talk to us who were not popular

But not all of them were like that

You mentioned uniforms...

Here in the US, in public schools we do not wear uniforms

so one way to distinguish the popular kids was through their clothes

Here in the US, the private/Catholic schools do require the students to wear uniforms

Extra-curricular activities ouside of class

I personally had a lot of extra-curricular activities after school

like Tae Kwon Do, Tennis class, Mandarin class, and also traditional Indonesian dance class

But that was just me, so it was all private lessons (except the Tae Kwon Do)

My friends who were nerds too...

I think after school they did their homework and studied?

So those private classes, were they outside of school activities?

Yes, they were outside of school activities, so we paid directly to the private lessons' teachers

For example, my Mandarin teacher was my friend's mom, so someone outside the school- she was Chinese

And then my Indonesian dance teacher was actually Indonesian from Indonesia

and we paid directly to them, not through the school

so all those lessons were not through the high school

Of course besides those I also studied and did my school homework

but not as much as my fellow nerds...

Me, I don't think I was a nerd....

But I had to do lab work (practical study) 3 times a week

For extra-curricular activities, I had some, but they were part of my schedule at school

So if we had activities outside of....outside our school schedule,

the activities would be assigned by the teacher or the headmaster

Here, the students who were school athletes

they do have practice, like the football players, the swimmers, etc...

but the practice is not included in the school schedule...

So for example, classes ended at 4pm,

after that they go to practice

so it's really outside of class schedule

class schedule is really just for classes...

So actually in the regular high schools, they do have extra-curricular activities outside of the class schedule

so after class, the students can practice basketball, volleyball, etc

I did that in junior high too...

So after class, I went to practice badminton and choir

Legal Driving Age

Here in the US,

Normally high school students can drive when they're 16 years old or older

There is usually a driver's ed class

Usually when you're 15 years old you can take that class

From the Driver's Ed class, you get a permit, which is something you get before getting a driver's license

WIth a permit, you can drive a car, but you have to have an adult above 21 years old next to you

You can't drive by yourself

When you've had some hours driving with the permit,

...so it's like driving practice...

When you've had x number of hours driving with the permit,

only then you can apply/test for a Driver's License

Once you've gotten your Driver's License, then you can drive on your own

You won't need an adult next to you anymore

Usually the high school kids here don't have their own cars yet

Unless their parents get them a car as a birthday present or something...

What about in Indonesia? Is there an age limit for driving and to get a Driver's License?

Or is there Driver's Ed in school?

We don't have Driver's Ed in school...

maybe outside of school

so you can take a driver's ed outside of school

Regarding the age limit for driving, usually those who already had a motorcycle, they could drive a motorcycle in high school

or even junior high, last year of junior high, they can already drive a motorcycle

But

actually

We can get a driver's license at age 18

so ideally high school age

And then, regarding owning a car,

the car they use is usually not their own car

but it's their parents' car that they borrow

Part-Time Job in High School

In Indonesia, because in high school I majored in Hotel Management,

and because I went to a specialized school,

The school prepared me for full-time work in this field

so during school breaks, for a month, two months or three months

so during this break, we went to practical training

So we basically applied for a job at restaurants or hotels to work there

so it was like a part-time job

yeah, like part-time job

Many High school students in the US actually do take part-time jobs while they are still in school

So through those part-time jobs, many high school students here are already learning how to be financially independent

But I didn't do that...I didn't have a part-time job in high school..my parents didn't let me

But if your parents allowed you to have a part-time job in high school, would you have done it?

If my parents let me, and I had the time, yes, I would've done a part-time job

But the issue was I wouldn't have had the time anyway since I had a lot of extracurricular activities

So I had no time...

Ok, so this is part 2, we still have one more part about high schools in the US vs. in Indonesia

So, don't forget to subscribe and turn on your youtube notifications

so when the 3rd part comes out, you'll be the first ones to know!

See you in the next video! Bye!

No comments:

Post a Comment