Saturday, November 25, 2017

USA news on Youtube Nov 25 2017

>>LARRY NASSER, THE NOTORIOUS USA GYMNASTICS DOCTOR WHO IS NOW

FACED COUNTLESS ALLEGATIONS OF MOLESTATION, HAS PLEADED GUILTY

IN COURT.

HE IS ALSO FACING A FEDERAL TRIAL INVOLVING

POSSESSION OF CHILD PORNOGRAPHY, BUT IN THIS CASE IT HAS TO DO

WITH THE GYMNAST HE VICTIMIZED THROUGHOUT HIS TENURE AS USA

GYMNASTICS DOCTOR --

>>A NUMBER OF WOMEN HAVE COME FORWARD, INCLUDING GABBY

DOUGLAS, THE MOST RECENT ACCUSER, AND I'M FORGETTING HER

NAME RIGHT NOW, I APOLOGIZE, ALI RAISMAN IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE.

IT'S

NICE TO SEE A LITTLE JUSTICE IN THIS CASE.

HE ALSO ISSUED AN

APOLOGY DURING THIS TRIAL THAT I WANT TO SHOW YOU, LET'S

TAKE A LOOK.

>>I THINK THIS IS IMPORTANT THAT WHAT I'VE DONE TODAY, TO

HELP MOVE A COMMUNITY FORWARD AND AWAY FROM THE HURTING, LET

THE HEALING START.

THERE'S A COUPLE THINGS I CAN DO TO STOP

THE HURTING, I THINK THAT'S IMPORTANT.

FOR ALL THOSE

INVOLVED, I'M SO SORRY.

THIS WAS LIKE A MATCH THAT TURNED INTO A

FOREST FIRE OUT OF CONTROL, AND I PRAY EVERY DAY FOR

FORGIVENESS, I WANT THEM TO HEAL.

I WANT THIS COMMUNITY TO

HEAL, I HAVE NO ANIMOSITY TOWARDS ANYONE, I JUST WANT

HEALING, IT'S TIME.

I GUESS THAT'S THE BIGGEST THING, WE

NEED TO MOVE FORWARD IN A SENSE OF GROWTH AND HEALING, AND I

PRAY THAT.

>>WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU HAVE NO ANIMOSITY TOWARDS ANYONE?

>>NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOUR ANIMOSITY.

>>THERE WERE 125 VICTIMS, A LOT OF THEM UNDER AGE, A LOT OF THEM

UNDER THE AGE OF 13.

NO ONE CARES WHO YOU HAVE ANIMOSITY

TOWARDS.

AND THE JUDGE, ROSEMARY ACULINA, MADE A GREAT POINT, SHE

SAID IT MIGHT TAKE THEM A LIFETIME OF HEALING WILL

YOU SPEND YOUR LIFE TIME BEHIND BARS TAKING ABOUT WHAT YOU

DID IN TAKING AWAY THEIR CHILDHOOD.

SHE IS ABSOLUTELY RIGHT, HIS SENTENCING WILL COME LATER

AND IT APPEARS IT WILL BE SIGNIFICANT.

>>ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU CONSIDER THAT THE 125 VICTIMS WHO

REPORTED THESE ASSAULTS TO THE STATE OF MICHIGAN WILL BE ABLE

TO SHARE THEIR IMPACT STATEMENTS IN ORDER TO INFLUENCE THE

JUDGE'S DECISION IN SENTENCING, ALTHOUGH AGAIN THE JUDGE SEEMS

PRETTY CONFIDENT IN GIVING HIM A LONG SENTENCE.

NOW --

>>LUCKILY HE IS IN FOR A WORLD OF HURT IN TERMS OF THE AMOUNT

OF TIME HE'S GOING TO GET IN PRISON.

AND THE DETAILS ARE

GRUESOME, AS USUAL IN THESE CASES -- THESE YOUNG GIRLS, SO

YOUNG, HE UNDRESSES THEM AND FONDLES THEM UNDER THE GUISE OF

BEING THEIR DOCTOR, AND AS ALI RAISMAN POINTED OUT ON TWITTER,

SHE DOESN'T EVEN WANT THE COURT REFERRING TO HIM AS A DOCTOR,

SHE SAYS LARRY IS A MONSTER, NOT A DOCTOR.

For more infomation >> Ex-USA Gymnastics Doctor Pleads Guilty To SHOCKING Sex Crimes - Duration: 3:48.

-------------------------------------------

This Video Is NOT COOL (and neither am I) - Duration: 9:42.

I am definitely not someone who is just effortlessly cool.

Or glamorous. That's just not me.

Hey everyone, Dana here! The other day I was listening to this podcast that I really, really love.

It is called The Bittersweet Life and it's a podcast by two Americans who have both spent

time living abroad in Rome.

Of course I will link to the podcast down in the description box below.

They talk about life abroad but also so many other little spin off topics, like this episode

in particular, in which they were talking about, like, absurdly glamorous events, and

what made those events so glamorous in their mind.

And these were usually events that they had often just kind of stumbled into.

Listening to this episode made me think of two of my own stories that I would like to

share today.

The first one fits pretty well with the stories that they shared on the podcast, and

that was kissing Mr. German Man on the train platform in Munich.

At this time I had only been living in Europe for a few months, I was living in Prague at

the time, visiting Munich for a week, and just living in Europe in and of itself seemed

like a pretty glamorous thing.

Now, I will preface all of this by saying once again: I am not a glamorous person.

I am awkward and I like corny jokes.

I really love "dad jokes."

I like doing, you know, thumbs up.

And, yeah...I'm just not just like, you know, glamorous.

And I'm okay with that. That's not who I am. And that's totally cool. But anyway!

Stefan and I had been hanging out for a few days in Munich, and, oh my God, I was just

head over heels for him.

I fell so hard so quickly, right away.

And at the end of my time in Munich, he brought me to the underground platform and waited

with me for my train to pull up.

The train comes in, and as it rushes into the underground area the wind is just blowing

all over the place, my hair is blowing all over the place.

He pulls me into him and he kisses me all dramatically, dips me down like in the movies

-- or at least that's what I remember in my memory -- dips me down, and then brings

me back up and then he, like, drew me off of his arm, helping me rush onto the train at

the very last moment.

The train doors shut and as the train pulls away, he waves out his arm and says:

"I'll see you in Prague." I'll see you in Prague. I'll see you in Prague.

But the podcast also made me think of a more recent experience that I've had too.

This one did not feel so glamorous as it did cool.

Just oh, so cool.

Now, remember a few seconds ago when I assured you of how not glamorous I am? The same thing

applies to being cool as well.

However, the other day I found myself smack dab in the middle of just the

coolest of cool moments.

Not because of anything that I did to make it cool...except for my sweater!

Oh, maybe...yes...I did buy that sweater; hold on, wait, let me go get my sweater,

help set the mood. It was this one.

I was wearing this oversized -- let me see if I can get it on, oh it's hot in here -- this

oversized sweater-cardigan thing when it happened.

And this sweater is basically the coolest thing that I own.

That and my cut-off jean shorts.

Okay, so, what happened?

A couple weeks ago we had this incredibly warm perfect weekend here in Germany right

in the middle of October.

The summer had returned to Germany for one last hurrah, it was 25 degrees Celsius, and

it was just gorgeous.

I was hanging out with a friend of mine, very cool guy -- at least, I think he's cool.

I wonder now what he'll say when he watches this video -- and some of his equally very

cool friends, when they suggested we go up onto the roof of their apartment building,

apparently something they did all the time, which to me already immediately sounded like

such a cool thing to do.

Like a scene straight out of the movies; we were going to go up on the roof.

But I had no idea just how movie-esque things were about to get.

We climb up the ladder to the roof and what do I think to bring up there with me?

A bottle of water.

I go up onto a roof and I bring with me: some water.

Because, you know...hydration is very important.

We get up there and do you know what everyone else has brought up onto the roof with them?

Everything else besides water.

I sit down and I look around, and I realize: oh look at that, I'm sitting on a chair!

They brought chairs onto the roof.

Chairs, plural, as in, like, four or five of them.

Also blankets, multiple ones.

And these beautiful, huge decorative throw pillows that don't just provide a comfy

place to sit when I get sick of, you know, sitting on a chair on the roof, but also these

pillows are colorful and beautiful and they really help to set the mood.

And I brought water.

Some people also brought wine. But not with a bottle. There was no bottle. Just in glasses.

There were multiple glasses up on the roof this evening. And sodas. And beer.

And of course my water.

But wait, can we get back to the glasses of wine for a second?

There was no bottle.

So that means that they carried the wine glass with the wine in it

up the ladder and onto the roof.

See that's what I'm talking about -- this cool thing.

Like, I'm not that effortlessly cool to carry a glass of wine up a ladder and onto a roof. No. No!

On top of all of that someone then put some music on with their phone, but they did not

just play the music from their phone, no; they had brought with them this little speaker

system thing so that the sound quality would be top notch.

But there's more.

We had gone up fairy early in the evening, but then, once it started to get darker, that

same person who had brought the little speaker thing, pulled this small battery powered light

out of their bag and set it up in the, like, kind of corner of our area.

It was tinted red, so that it provided just the perfect touch of light without messing

up the ambiance. In fact, it added to the ambiance.

So there I found myself, up on a roof with quality music playing in the background, and

blankets, and decorative throw pillows, and chairs, and drinks in delicate little wine

glasses, and mood lighting, and of course my water, don't want to forget about my

water, and my big oversized sweater, and just when I was thinking, like, wow, did I just

fall out of a movie scene here?

A shooting star passed by overhead.

There was then a shooting star!

It was so cool.

Definitely not the kind of moment that I feel like would come naturally for me to put together myself.

If I found myself up on a roof, I would be sitting there with my water, and I would see

the shooting star, and it would still be cool...but not as cool.

So my question for you is: Do you think that people actually ever see themselves as cool,

or other people see them as cool, but they don't actually see themselves as cool?

Does anyone out there, do you see yourself as cool?

And also: what is a cool or glamorous moment that you've experienced?

Please let me know in the comments below.

Thanks so much for watching.

I really hope that you enjoyed this video.

If you enjoy these videos, please don't forget to subscribe and hit that like button.

Thank you so much.

And also a really, really, really big thank you so much to our patrons on Patreon, who

help make these videos possible.

Thank you so much for your support.

If you would like to check out our Patreon page, you can find a link to that down in

the description box below.

Until next time, auf Wiedersehen!

What is the most cool or glamorous....moment.

I am proving how uncool I am -- I just used "one last hurrah," and I even did, like, the arm thing.

Wasn't even sparkling water. It was still water.

For more infomation >> This Video Is NOT COOL (and neither am I) - Duration: 9:42.

-------------------------------------------

7 German Words USED CORRECTLY in English - Duration: 5:19.

Sometimes we do get some things right in English, too.

Hey everyone! I'm Dana and you're watching Wanted Adventure Living Abroad.

I've already made a video about some of the German words that are used differently in English.

So they have a slightly or sometimes really different meaning.

But today I want to look at some of the German words that exist in the U.S. with pretty much

the same meaning in English as in German

And first let's go for a pretty obvious one: gesundheit.

Yes, if someone sneezes in America you can say bless you or also gesundheit.

But, and I don't know maybe this is just actually a me thing, not necessary an American

thing, but just what I did...but in the U.S. I would often use gesundheit if the person

had sneezed multiple times in a row.

Bless you.

Bless you.

Gesundheit!

So yeah, that's how I specifically use gesundheit in the U.S., but I don't know if anyone

else does that. Or if it's just mean.

Another German word that I've seen more and more often creeping into the English language

is schadenfreude.

Schadenfreude is such an amazingly specific word.

It describes the feeling of pleasure at another person's misfortune, and it's becoming

part of the English language so much, that I've even seen puns and play on words being

made in English with the word schadenfreude.

I don't know what other people's standards are, but for me, if a language starts making

play on words with a word, then I consider it officially part of that language.

I guess if that word has also been added to some of the dictionaries, that would count

for something too.

But also play on words.

Kaput is another German word used in the U.S.

If something is broken we can also say it's kaput, but interestingly we actually spell

this word with only one T in English, while in German it's spelled with two Ts.

And yeah, I kept being so confused. Like, am I spelling this word wrong?

I don't know. I didn't know. And then I figured it out.

That in English it only has one T and in German it has two.

So I've probably spelled it wrong or flipped it, but that's okay.

Americans also talk about someone's doppelgänger, although you will often see this word spelled

without the umlaut over the A. And speaking of umlauts, of course, that brings me to the

word umlaut, which is also used the same in English and German.

Weltschmerz is another German word that is used in English, and honestly speaking I think

I've kind of been using this word a little bit incorrectly, actually.

Because weltschmerz literally means "world pain," I always thought that this word meant

that feeling of sadness that sometimes washes over me or even lingers for a while due to

what's going on in the world.

So basically the feeling that comes over me every time I check the news.

But actually, as I understand it now, the word means, like, a sad or heavy feeling when

looking at the actual state of the world and realizing that it doesn't match up with

your own idealized state of the world that you have in your head.

So the same general idea and maybe same overall feeling.

But coming from, I would say, a slightly different place.

And lastly, let's end on a little bit of a cheerier word: Wanderlust in German, wanderlust

in English.

In English wanderlust describes this desire to travel.

And while I believe it does mean the same thing in German, when I look the word up in

a German-English dictionary, and I look up wanderlust, I actually get the German word Fernweh.

So German speakers watching this, do you use the word Wanderlust?

And does it mean the same thing as Fernweh?

So my question for you is: I know there are so many more German words in English, what

other ones can you think of?

Or German words in other languages?

Please let me know in the comments below.

Thanks so much for watching.

I really hope that you enjoyed this video.

If you enjoy these videos, please don't forget to subscribe to the channel and hit that like button.

And also a really, really, really big thank you so much to our patrons on Patreon, who

help make these videos possible.

Thank you so much for your support.

If you would like to check out our Patreon page, you can find a link to that down in

the description box below.

Until next time, auf Wiedersehen!

Feeling of sadness that some...

Using it in...

Wait. Okay.

No comments:

Post a Comment