Hi, I am Torstein from Cinema Terror and today I am back with another new film that I saw
at the fantastic recent horror movie festival called Ramaskrik here in Norway.
Leatherface is the newest entry into the apparantly indestructable franchise of The Texas Chainsaw
Massacre.
I can't say that I have enjoyed any movies from this franchise since perhaps the third
one, ironically also called Leatherface, released back in 1990.
Leatherface takes us back to the events that made Leatherface into the character that he
becomes, so this is a prequel in the same sence as the forgettable Texas Chainsaw Massacre
– The Beginning from 2006.
In this new one, we get to experience the upbringing of Leatheface and how he was taken
away from the Sawyer family to be put into a mental institution.
We then follow him as a young adult together with a few others when they break out of the
mental institution ten years later, with plenty of murder and mayhem included on the ride.
Now I will be honest and say that I originally had zero interest in any new Texas Chainsaw
movie, but the fact that this is directed by the French duo Julien Maury and Alexandre
Bustillo did make me curious that perhaps this might not be so bad after all.
So how was Leatherface?
Well, for me who haven't enjoyed any of the last five, six or seven, wheverer they are
at now, this one ended up being just another poor experience with me wanting to rather
watch the first, original again instead of any of this newer crap.
I have no idea what the idea of this film was supposed to be.
It does nothing to add to the Texas Chainsaw saga, in fact it actually does more harm than
good to it due to them messing with the Leatherface character, taking away his mystique, if you
will, and rather give him a lame backstory that feels out of character if you watch the
original Texas Chainsaw movie.
He goes from being a more of less normal young guy here, then in a very unconvincing twist
he goes bonkers and voila, he suddenly becomes the infamous Leatherface.
The reason for why he choose to wear a human mask is also unsatisfying here and you just
can't see how this little guy would go on to become the animalistic monster that scares
audiences worldwide back in the 70's.
Funny enough, most of the film is spent with others being the villain as Leatherface and
a few others are basically being forced to tag along with a crazy, murdering couple who
are on a murder spree on their way down to Mexico.
This couple gets too much screen time, putting other more important characters to the main
story in the background, including Stephen Dorff's character as the local police detective
who has a personal vendetta towards the Sawyer family and of course Vanessa Grasse's character
as nurse Lizzy.
She is setup early on to become sort of the final girl in the film, a good choice by all
means as she is absolutely gorgeous and still has a volunerable side to her, but she gets
nothing at all to work with here.
She is basically sticking around in the film as they needed someone for Leatherface to
go hunt after during the end.
So there are basically no characters to stay interested in, including mother fucking Leatherface,
and there isn't anything interesting when it comes to the visuals either, which is a
huge shame is you are familiar with some of Maury and Bustillo's first two films, Inside
and Livid.
I am very disappointed in their work here as I expected much, much more.
Even the violent scenes aren't all that great with many scenes of the kill scenes being
off screen with only blood spattering being shown.
And while you might mention that the original didn't have much blood, or practically any
at all in it, this one has a feel that it needed some more gory scenes while the original
didn't.
I am not sure if all blame are to be put on the French duo though as this has been a troubled
production that originally did its filming in May of 2015 in Bulgaria out of all places,
before reshoots being done a year later, with the film sitting in post-production all the
way up until this fall even if it originally was set to be released last year.
Even with being attached to such a huge horror franchise it is not quietly being dumped onto
streaming platforms with hardly any theatrical release at all.
Leatherface is another miss in a long run of misses from the Texas Chainsaw Massacre
franchise.
A lot of these films has made back its money, so it is understandable why they have kept
on making these, but judging by the limited release this one is getting, I am going to
guess that it will be a while until the next time we see Leatherface on the big or small
screen and I am good with that idea.
Leatherface might work for those who you that actually enjoy the majority of the movies
in this franchise, but I would not recommend this at all to anyone.
Leatherface has little to offer and even if I didn't go into it with huge expectations,
it was still able to disappoint me.
Leatherface is gets the low score of 1.5 out of 5.
Who else has sat through this film yet and what did you think of it?
If you like it then I would also be interested in hearing if you've enjoyed the previous
films that we have gotten from this franchise during the last ten, twenty years.
Let me know about it in the comment section below, and if you thought this review was
done decently enough, then make sure to check out the rest of my channel as well.
Thank you for watching.
No comments:
Post a Comment