Tuesday, October 31, 2017

USA news on Youtube Nov 1 2017

Russia and USA send bombers to North Korea as Kim's nuclear disaster heightens war fears

After the from Missouri on a long-range mission to the Pacific at the weekend, Russia has followed suit by sending its own high-tech jets to the region.

The Russian Defence Ministry announced US and Japanese jets had escorted two of its missile-carrying Tupolev-95MS strategic bombers as they conducted flights over the Sea of Japan and the Pacific.

In a statement, Moscow's defence ministry said: Two strategic bombers Tupolev-95MS of Russia's Aerospace Force have carried out routine flights over international waters of the Sea of Japan and the western part of the Pacific Ocean.  "At certain sections of the route the Tupolev-95MS crews were accompanied by a pair of F-18 fighters (of the US Air Force), and a pair of F-15, F-4 and F-2A fighters (of the Japanese Air Force)." The Tu-95MS is an improved version of the older Tu-95, a Soviet-era four-engine, long-range, turboprop, strategic bomber that can be armed with a wide range of weapons including stand-off nuclear-capable cruise missiles.

Russia's own Sukhoi-35S multirole fighters escorted the bombers during the mission, the Defence Ministry confirmed. The Defence Ministry said: Long-range aviation crews make regular flights over international waters of the Arctic, the Atlantic, the Black Sea and the Pacific Ocean.

All flights are in strict accordance with international rules of using airspace, without any violations of the borders of other countries." It comes after North Korea's ri earlier today, leaving around 200 people dead.   .

It is believed 100 people were killed when an unfinished tunnel collapsed at Kim Jong-uns main nuclear testing site.   And another 100 people subsequently died while attempting to rescue the first group of entombed workers.

  Experts had warned a collapse was likely, highlighting the danger of a cloud of radioactive fallout escaping from the site and spreading across an entire hemisphere.

  The disaster was revealed by Japan's TV Asahi today, although they could not clarify when the accident and subsequent doomed rescue attempts took place.

Asahi said North Korean sources told them the collapse occurred as workers were working on the new tunnel. A second collapse took place as workers tried to rescue their colleagues.

Punggye-ri was the site of North Korea's sixth-ever nuclear test on September 3.

Kims regime tested a huge 100-kiloton explosive which was around seven times as powerful as the bomb dropped on Hiroshima during the Second World War.  This test is believed to have badly destabilised the mountainside-based facility and has prompted questions about whether Pyongyang's nuclear programme remains intact.

For more infomation >> Russia and USA send bombers to North Korea as Kim's nuclear disaster heightens war fears - Duration: 4:08.

-------------------------------------------

HALLOWEEN SPECIAL: Death in Germany & USA - Duration: 7:52.

Halloween is just around the corner, so let's talk about something that scares us and makes

us feel a little bit uncomfortable -- or at least makes me feel uncomfortable -- death.

Hey everyone! I'm Dana and you're watching Wanted Adventure Living Abroad.

In two days it will be Halloween, a holiday during which millions of people in the U.S.

and more and more people in other parts of the world dress up in scary costumes.

Some people, as I explained in last year's Halloween video, dress up in funny or sexy

costumes too, but the holiday itself is in general still about the celebration of things that

haunt and terrify us. One of those things being death.

Death is something that we often try to avoid talking about the whole rest of the year,

and then kind of let ourselves go crazy with on certain days, for example Halloween in the U.S.

So in honor of Halloween, I thought that I would make a video talking exactly about that

very uncomfortable and terrifying topic.

Because while death is something that we all have to face, it is handled differently in

some ways in Germany and the U.S.

For one, because death makes us feel uncomfortable, in both cultures we have a lot of euphemisms

for death.

In fact, I could probably spend a whole video just talking about sayings related to death,

but I'll just mention a couple of them here.

In English some idioms for "to die" include pass away, which is a polite ways of saying it,

as well as some more crude sayings like to bite the dust and to kick the bucket.

In German there's actually a similar saying to bite the dust except instead of dust, in

German it's grass -- ins Graß beißen.

And a polite way of saying it that's kind of like to pass away in German is

von uns gegangen, which literally means "went from us."

Another more crude way of putting it in German is abkratzen, which basically means something

like in English "to croak."

And then in German there's also den Löffel abgeben, which literally means in English

"to give up the spoon."

And in English I also know of two idioms that describe a person actually being dead:

six feet under and pushing up daisies.

And speaking of pushing up daisies, as far as I could find, in the U.S. when you purchase

a cemetery plot you're basically paying for that plot for "forever."

Of course at some point in the future it could happen that that land starts being used for

something else, but the general idea is that you are buying the cemetery plot for "forever."

So for the foreseeable future "forever."

Whereas in Germany that's not the case.

In Germany the cemetery plots are actually rented.

Exactly how long the rental period is differs around the country, but it's often around

20 to 30 years.

And for some graves, after that time the family can renew the rental, but for some types of

graves they can't.

For some types of graves that's it; you just get the one rental period.

And one difference that I've noticed as far as the cemeteries go is that in the U.S.,

from my experience and from what I've seen on American TV shows and in movies, because,

you know, that's a great place to get the most accurate information, movie and TV shows...but

yeah, from what I've seen, it seems like in the U.S. people often visit the grave of a

loved one on a special day of the year, for example maybe an anniversary.

And then they often bring a bouquet of flowers to lay on the gravestone.

Whereas in Germany I've seen people visiting the grave or graves of their family members

every week.

They go there, put out new candles, they light the candles, they place new flowers on the

grave, and they clear away any leaves that have fallen on the grave.

They pick out the weeds that have grown there, really tidying up the grave or graves on a

pretty regular basis.

Something else that I have heard of and have seen happen here in Germany that I personally

haven't ever seen or heard of happening in the U.S. is that sometimes in Germany when

a person dies at home, instead of the deceased being picked up right away, the body is kept

in the home and friends and family can come over and say their final goodbyes, gather

around together and cry, tell stories.

And then later on in the evening, the deceased is picked up and taken to a funeral home in a hearse.

Like I said, I don't have any experience with that happening in the U.S., and I don't

really recall ever seeing it in any American movies or TV shows or hearing about that from

my friends or anything like that.

I think that usually the deceased is picked up right away, but I would love to hear about

your experience with it down in the comments. Thank you.

Also while in the U.S. cremation I would say is a pretty common thing, in Germany the option

of cremation is still a relatively new one, and up until rather recently even if someone

was cremated in Germany those ashes still had to be buried, whereas now from what I

could find Germany has started to allow the possibility of ashes, for example, being strewn

in a cemetery, rather than being buried.

Or brought out to sea, beyond the three mile limit. But that's it.

Unlike in the U.S. where many families keep the ashes at home in an urn, which is sometimes

put up and displayed in the living room.

And as far as funerals go, in both the U.S. and Germany black is the traditional color

worn for mourning.

And in Germany after the funeral it's a common tradition for the family of the deceased

to provide what is called Beerdigungskuchen, literally "funeral cake."

So my question for you is: What are your thoughts on this topic and how are things surrounding

death done differently in other places?

Please let me know in the comments.

Thanks so much for watching, I really hope that you enjoyed this video about a little

bit more of a creepy topic this time.

And also a really big thank you so much to our patrons on Patreon, who help make these

videos possible.

Thank you so much for your support.

If you would like to check out our Patreon page, you can find a link to that down in

the description box below.

Until next time, auf Wiedersehen!

Yeah, but I laugh when I am talking about topics that make me nervous.

I start to laugh.

And then people are like, this isn't funny.

And I'm like no, I don't think it's funny, I'm just nervous.

For more infomation >> HALLOWEEN SPECIAL: Death in Germany & USA - Duration: 7:52.

-------------------------------------------

The Voice 2017 - Exclusive Footage of the Coaches - Duration: 2:01.

For more infomation >> The Voice 2017 - Exclusive Footage of the Coaches - Duration: 2:01.

-------------------------------------------

Restaurant Tipping in America Is...Bad?! - Duration: 11:35.

A tip is supposed to be a little extra bit of money, often given to reward good service,

but nowadays in some industries in the U.S., such as restaurants in particular, tipping

has stopped being a little something extra and instead it has become the customer actually

paying most if not all of the employee's earnings.

So is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Hey everyone, Dana here!

And I think tipping is good. And bad. Hmmm, okay wait, let me start over.

When I lived in the U.S. I did work as a server for a little while.

And let me just start by saying that I'm very sorry to anyone out there who had to

have me as their server, I was not cut out for that job and it wasn't one that I enjoyed at all.

But I did like the idea -- in fact I loved the idea that what I earned each day or evening

was based on my performance, and perhaps a little bit of luck as to who I got as customers.

I would go into each shift feeling like the sky was the limit for how much money I could make.

If I could just smile and really hustle and get to as many tables as possible without

spilling or dropping anything, who knows how much I could earn.

Maybe there would be someone really generous who would come in that evening and they would

leave me a huge tip that I was probably not so deserving of because I had probably forgotten

their drink or messed up their salad -- like I said, not a good server -- but sometimes

people were just super generous.

Sometimes customers just out of their kind hearts left me a very nice tip.

But sometimes they didn't.

I was left just thirteen cents one time, and, oh boy, was that a sad moment.

I had worked and worked and worked, so hard.

I was really trying my best.

And then I got just thirteen cents because the customer decided that I didn't deserve

to earn anything more than that.

The customer made that decision, that I didn't deserve to earn my wage for the work that

I had done.

Which when you think about it, is actually a pretty strange thing.

That doesn't happen at the movie theater.

The customers at movie theaters don't get to decide how much the person who sold them

the ticket should make that evening based on how much they smiled or how many mistakes

they did or didn't make.

Or what kind of a mood the customer is in that day.

No, that is between the employee and the employer to work out.

Not the customer.

But well, I mean, whatever, this is just how it's done at restaurants everywhere around

the world, right?

Wrong.

And I had no idea before leaving the U.S. for the first time, but no.

It is not the case everywhere in the world that the customers at restaurants are expected

to pay most or even any of the server's wage at all.

Here in Germany it is customary for a little tip to be left, usually I would say around

ten percent, but here this is a tip in the actual sense of the word, a little something

extra on top of what the server is earning.

But, for example, in Sweden from my experience, that's not the case.

We went to Sweden a few years ago and tried to leave a tip at the restaurant, but they

expressly said no, they would not take the tip.

They said that they had just been doing their job.

They wouldn't take it.

Even though out server had actually gone, as far as I'm concerned, above and beyond

her job that day.

The restaurant that we had gone to had just recently gotten a new menu and hadn't yet

had the chance to translate it into English, so it was only in Swedish.

So our server stood there and read through the whole menu to us, translating it into

English for us.

And still she would not accept a tip.

She said no, it's just, that's part of my job.

I've also heard that there's no tipping in restaurants in Japan too.

I don't know first hand, but that's what I've heard.

Okay, fine, but still this is how it's always been done in the U.S., so just leave it be.

Nope! Wrong again.

And first of all here, even if something had always been done a certain way somewhere,

why in the world would that be a good reason to keep doing it?

Just because something has "always been done a certain way," if we realize that now it's

not actually a good way of doing things, or maybe it was a good way of doing things at

one point, but now it's not anymore, then it should be changed, regardless of how long

it's been done that way. Right?

But anyway, no, it hasn't always been done like this in the U.S.

According to several articles that I read, which I will link to down below, America actually

got their tipping practices from Europe in the latter half of the 1800s.

And actually, at first, when tipping was first introduced from Europe into the USA,

a lot of people in the U.S. did not like it.

Being able to buy better service was actually considered anti-democratic at first in the U.S.

But, obviously, over time that changed.

Whereas in Europe some of the countries from whom the U.S. had actually first gotten the

idea of tipping, had, by the middle of the 1950s started scaling back their tipping,

either with mandatory service charges on the bill or mandatory wage minimums for the employees.

Which brings us to where we are today.

So is tipping like this in the USA bad?

Well, as someone who has worked as a server in the U.S., and as someone who has experienced

basically mandatory tipping in the USA, a little tipping in Germany, and from my experience

no tipping in Sweden, I have to say that I personally prefer the whole no tipping thing.

As a server in the U.S., yes, it was kind of exciting to think that the harder I worked

the more money I could make.

But for one, that made it all the more devastating when I didn't get a good tip, or any tip

at all, especially if I had done everything "right" and to the best of my abilities.

Just because the person eating forgot or didn't feel like tipping or whatever, just because

of that I didn't get paid for my work?

Come on, like I said, that doesn't happen in other jobs.

Sometimes at restaurants in the U.S. people don't like the food they ordered and then

because of that they don't tip the server.

Going back to the movie theater example, it's like, you can't go out and see a movie and then

if you don't like it, well sorry the person who sold you the ticket doesn't get paid that night.

But also, because of the tipping system in the U.S., when I was a server everything,

and I mean everything about my evening, became solely focused on making as much money as possible.

Because like I said I knew the sky was the limit.

So I focused so razor sharply on that bottom line that it really felt like any other measurement

of success, like enjoying the evening or making a fun connection with other people just disappeared.

Later when I worked as a hostess in a restaurant, where my earnings were the same no matter

what, I got paid per hour by the restaurant, I felt like I was finally able to enjoy my

job and enjoy the evening.

And for a while, yeah, I did think, like, well but the tipping system in the U.S. incentivizes

better service at restaurants, doesn't it.

But then I realized that actually makes no sense.

If I didn't give good customer service at the restaurant that I worked at as a server, yeah

I guess I wouldn't have gotten good tips, but I also probably would have been fired

for not doing my job because giving good customer service is a part of the job of being a server

in the U.S. Customer service is important in America, and I get good customer service

in the U.S. in places where there's no tipping at all, like at the grocery store.

Or when I worked as a hostess at the restaurant, I wasn't getting any tips, but I still gave

great customer service because that was a part of the job.

And actually I felt like I was able to give better customer service as a hostess because

I didn't have to worry about those tips.

And lastly, as a customer going out to eat, I personally would much rather just have a

set service fee that I need to pay, automatically added to my bill or, you know, just have the

server's payment included in the price of what I'm buying, just like at other places,

like at the movie theater or the bowling alley.

The cost of paying the employees is just added into the price that I have to pay when I go

do that activity.

This system seems to work just fine at other places. Why not at restaurants?

But that's just me.

So my question for you is: Do you think that tipping like this is good or bad?

Would you prefer to live in a world without tipping?

Please let me know in the comments below.

Thank you so much for watching.

I really hope that you enjoyed this video.

If you enjoy these videos, please don't forget to subscribe and hit that like button.

And also a really, really, really, really, really, really big thank you so much to our patrons

on Patreon who help make these videos possible.

Thank you so much for your support.

If you would like to check out our Patreon page, you can find a link to that down in

the description box below.

Until next time, auf Wiedersehen!

Which brings us to where we are today.

I'm hungry!

Then it should be changed, regardless of how long it's been done that way. Right?

Like we can learn from the past and change the way of doing something.

Yes?

That's the wonderful thing about humans. I think?

Until next time...I'm waving way too soon! Auf Wiedersehen! Okay, I'm done!

No comments:

Post a Comment